Perfect Banana Bread Recipe

bananabread

One of my favorite things to make is banana bread.  Partly because my husband loves it so much and partly because our banana’s are always over ripened and perfect for making it. Out of all the recipes I’ve tried, this is my favorite! It was passed down to me from a family friend at my bridal shower. (However, she gave the recipe to my mom many years ago, so I’ve been making it forever!) We like it served warm with butter! Hope you enjoy it as much as we do!

xoxo Shay


MAKES 3 LOAFS

  • 1/2 Cup Butter
  • 2  2/3 Cup Sugar
  • 4 Eggs
  • 2 tsp. Baking Powder
  • 2 tsp. Vanilla
  • 2 Cups Sour Cream
  • 2 Cups Banana’s (4-5)
  • 1 Cup Nuts (Optional)
  • 2 tsp. baking soda
  • 4 Cups Flour

Preheat the oven to 350*.  Cream together (lightly) the butter, sugar and eggs.  Mix in the baking powder, vanilla, sour cream, mashed banana’s, and nuts (optional).  In a separate bowl, combine the baking soda and flour.  Slowly add that in, while mixing so you have a smooth, lump free batter.  Pour evenly into 3 greased loaf pans.  Bake for 45 minutes. Toothpick test the center to make sure it’s fully baked. Let cool before cutting. Enjoy!

Leave a comment