Happy Birthday Charlie

IMG_7628

In April of 2013 I was finishing up classes for “Pre-Cana,” which is required by the church, in order for them to marry you. When me and my husband left, I called my mom to share the news that the classes were all finished and we were officially able to get married. (Which obviously we never questioned.) She answered the phone and said she couldn’t talk long due to the fact that she was with my brother. I only have 2 sisters so I was pretty confused by this. I thought for a second that she was talking about my brother-in-law. Nope. She said she was at the pet store and they were buying my sister a puppy.

The only pet I had in the past was a gold fish. Two actually. Ernie & Bert. (RIP.) We (my family and I) have never really been “animal people.” Of course, we never wish any harm on any animal, we just never had any. So this was very “out of the blue.” My first reaction to the news was, “what? It better not pee on my wedding dress.” (My wedding was less than 2 months away.) Then, “are you crazy? You aren’t dog people!” This went on and on and on for a while.

The next day I went with my sister to go see the pup. The deposit was paid for him but they had to wait a few more days before he could come home. That was the day. That was the day I fell in love. That was the day I became a “dog person.” When I was handed 1 pound “Charlie” I knew my heart would never be the same. He was the tiniest lil nugget I had ever seen, with the biggest eyes and softest fur. It was love at first sight. I couldn’t believe how crazy I had acted and instantly connected to my lil Char. Right then and there we became besties. He was even the first one I took a picture with on my wedding day. My sweet lil charlie.

IMG_5784

Today is Charlie’s 2nd birthday. I can’t believe he’s 2 already. I feel like he’s been in my life forever. We’ve cuddled countless times, gone for long/ short walks together and really bonded over this short amount of time. His strange reaction to me 2 summers ago was the reason I took a pregnancy test and found out I was pregnant. He knew before I knew. I love my baby boy and wish him the best 2nd birthday ever. My only wish would be, that there would be countless years ahead with this lil guy. He is a part of my family. He is my puppy brother. He is my Char Char.

Leave a comment