Something Blue

My “Something Blue” was very special to me on my wedding day. It was a ring I wore that was inspired by my mother, the most important woman in my life & my best friend. On the night of our rehearsal dinner my husband and I presented our parents with baskets we made up for them, filled with lots of unique little gifts to say thank you, for everything they did for us to make our wedding day so special. Inside my moms basket was this sapphire ring.

IMG_5559

And inside the box was also this note…

Mom,
I bought this ring for you as a symbol. I’ve always loved (ever since I was little) when you would tell me that when I was born I was the greatest birthday gift you had ever received. I want to honor you by wearing this ring, our birthstone, on my wedding day as my something blue. In the future when you wear it you can remember how I wore it on my wedding day and how I was a gift to you when I was born. But even more so please remember this… Being your daughter is the greatest gift I could ever ask for.

IMG_5561

Leave a comment